Quick question - Quick answer

Discussion in 'General' started by NYT Raven, Aug 25, 2015.

  1. Matt

    Matt Administrator Staff Member

    Location:
    Wigan, England
    Guildcard:
    42000044
    They're significantly weaker just like E1/2 are.
     
  2. Villain

    Villain Member

    Yeah, body slam!

    My turn: How many characters can you type at most to name an S-Rank weapon?
     
  3. Nikki

    Nikki Member

    I believe the limit was 8 characters.

    Quick question, is oroti on this server bugged to lose stats when transforming from agito 1975 or is that fixed here? If I remember correctly it losing stats wasn't a default intended behavior but something Sega never fixed. I could be wrong but I'm pretty sure that was considered a bug.
     
  4. Soly

    Soly Member

    Location:
    CR
    As Colette said, max is 8 characters and you can only input A to Z and (I haven't tried in game) [\]_^

    I haven no idea about the weapon but I think it is not server side (the weapon conversion), if that's the case it would be harder to fix (if it ever was a bug).
     
  5. Nikki

    Nikki Member

    I only mentioned it because I remember Lee mentioning it before about attempting to fix it. Something about it not saving correctly due to "sega being jackasses" or w/e Lee-ish thing he said.
     
  6. Soly

    Soly Member

    Location:
    CR
    Yeah I bet along those lines xD
    I just checked the source and I don't see any agito, oroti or 1975, I guess is safe to assume that it's coded in the quest/map data
     
  7. Aleron Ives

    Aleron Ives Member

    Location:
    California
    It is not a bug; it is an oversight. The offline quests have their origins in Ver.1, and preserving the stats of the Agito you found is not possible on Ver.1. Sega made updates to Dr. Osto's Research and Unsealed Door to let you select monster parts from your inventory (which also isn't possible on Ver.1), but Sega never updated Seek my Master to read in the stats of the Agito and apply them to the Orochi-Agito that it gives you to, so you still get a blank Orochi-Agito, as always. It would be possible to change the quest to preserve the stats of your Agito, but it would not be a vanilla behaviour to do so. The quest is working properly, though, even if the correct operation is not necessarily desirable.
     
  8. Nikki

    Nikki Member

    Thanks motormouth.
     
  9. Aleron Ives

    Aleron Ives Member

    Location:
    California
    Nobody knows, since it's invisible. The way to test would be to set up a Hunter and Ranger with the same ATA and Handgun against a stationary enemy, such as Indi Belra. Have both of them shoot the Belra at maximum Handgun range several hundred times while counting the number of successful hits with and without SmartLink, and then do the same thing at point blank range. If Hunters get a range penalty, the Ranger should hit more often than the Hunter at maximum range, while they should land the same number of successful hits at point blank range, and the two of them should also score the same number of successful hits at maximum range when the Hunter is wearing SmartLink. If SmartLink adds invisible ATA, the Hunter should score more successful hits than the Ranger at both maximum and point blank range, unless Hunters get a range penalty but SmartLink adds invisible ATA instead of removing the penalty. :p

    The trick to making the test successful is to choose the correct ATA value so that neither the Hunter nor Ranger is particularly accurate; both classes need to miss at least 50% of the time in order to show a difference either way. The other trick is getting a large enough sample size; simply shooting 100 times won't cut it.
     
  10. qwerty

    qwerty Member

    I found it's much easier to take the reverse engineering way than to do those tests, whether manually or automatically

    The hit/miss calculation of ranged attack from TethVer12510 client looks like following pseudo code
    Code:
    ATA = origATA
    switch atkType
    {
        case normal:
            ATA = ATA * 1.0
        case hard:
            ATA = ATA * 0.7
        case special:
            ATA = ATA * 0.5
        case untekked special:
            ATA = ATA * 0.05
    }
    switch comboStep
    {
        case first:
            ATA = ATA * 1.0
        case second:
            ATA = ATA * 1.3
        case third:
            ATA = ATA * 1.69
    }
    
    EVP = origEVP
    if frozen:
        EVP = EVP - origEVP * 0.3
    if shocked:
        EVP = EVP - origEVP * 0.15
    if paralyzied:
        EVP = EVP - origEVP * 0.15
    
    chance = ATA - EVP * 0.2
    
    if not ranger or without smartlink:
        chance = chance - distance * 0.33 # distance between you and your target
    
    chance = change * 0.01
    
    if chance > rand(0, 1):
        hit
    else:
        miss
    
    For example, if you're using handgun to attack an enemy at handgun's max range, it's ok to use handgun's range 170 as a rough approximation of distance
    So, without SmartLink, your chance to hit is lowered by 0.57 in this case

    tl;dr
    All smartLink does is removing the range penalty of hunter and force
     
    Tekkium and honeydrew like this.
  11. Villain

    Villain Member

    From what I have read about sticky topics - like V502, the best you can hope for is that nothing was lost in translation or that some dude that developed the unit actually said it more clearly than what the game description says.
     
  12. Lestat

    Lestat Member


    mimimi should've played GC, it's not even that bad. :roll:
     
  13. Matt

    Matt Administrator Staff Member

    Location:
    Wigan, England
    Guildcard:
    42000044
    BB is based on GC, so yes.

    Also that post by qwerty is from the client, not the server, so I'm not sure how it could be "coded wrong" -- it's what SEGA did.
     
  14. Aleron Ives

    Aleron Ives Member

    Location:
    California
    Sega's the one who broke the game, as they're the ones who coded it that way.
     
  15. Noblewine

    Noblewine Member

    Location:
    USA
    I see. Thanks. 0/
     
  16. Link1275

    Link1275 Member

    Guildcard:
    42000076
    Actually BB is ported from the Xbox version of Ep 1&2. Hence the Section Id calculations being the Xbox ones.
     
  17. Aleron Ives

    Aleron Ives Member

    Location:
    California
    What? PSOX had Section ID skewing, too? I thought that was new to BB.
     
  18. Link1275

    Link1275 Member

    Guildcard:
    42000076
    It isn't skewed, it's just a different calculation.
     
  19. Aleron Ives

    Aleron Ives Member

    Location:
    California
    No it isn't. The calculation is the same as in all other versions. Each character just gets an arbitrary value added to the sum of the values of every character in his name so that each class gets a different ID with the same name. On previous versions, the same name generates the same ID on every every character.
     
  20. JezMM

    JezMM Member

    Location:
    UK
    What is the key for autorun? I was sure there was one and have seen players speak while running, but I always forget it every time I take a break from PSO1 I swear...

    Also I don't recall there being any but just in case: is there any way to customise what menus the F keys shortcut to? Or at the very least a shortcut to open the non-team chat log window.
     

Share This Page