Is there a way to get this running in a linux environment?

Chaz

Guildcard
Hey Guys,

Is there any plans to get this running (psobb / ephinea) on a linux distro? Just curious because of how big steamOS with proton is right now.

How viable is it to get a windows.exe installed and running properly in something like ubuntu? I'm guessing it already works in WINE / something similar...

any ideas?

Me (on gentoo) and a friend (on mint) both set it up quite recently. Seems to work great for my friend, and for me too though I'm quite new to the game so it's not like I've been able to check every area works fine. Only issue I've had is a little bit of audio crackle if you're using Pipewire, but that's hardly PSO exclusive (FFXI through wine also does this) and can either be avoided by not using Pipewire or mostly mitigated by messing with your settings a bit.

There's the guide on the forum and there's the lutris install script, the lutris script didn't really work for me so I set it up manually instead, but it worked for my friend (though he had to switch to Flatpak lutris because there's some issue with Mint's current lutris or something).

Also on Gentoo here. Ephinea has been running on Linux for years. I tested installing it in a new Wine prefix(Wine 7.0.1) just now and ran into zero issues. Loaded into lobby and then Episoda 2 Seaside with no lag or sound issues(on Pulseaudio). Both mods and graphics fixes(dgVoodoo) will work on Linux with just a simple menu setting.

I'll also add I have Ephinea running on my steam deck with no issues(other than getting resolution right). Installed it through desktop mode and then added it to steam library.

These days most games that don't have issues with anti-cheat or DRM will run on Linux, most of them without any tinkering. Lutris certainly helps but I only ever used it to run League. Like above poster I had issues with lutris and wasn't worth my time.