Stack grinders and materials?

Dab

pso winner
Hello Admins and Mods,
I would like to suggest that you allow grinders and materials to be stacked in the inventory and banks. This would save lots of room, especially in our banks. I know I'll be collecting these to use for future use.

What do you guys think?

Sodaboy

Administrator
Staff member
The software already supports this. (The new version does.)

You will have to patch your client executable to know the new limits, though.

Dab

pso winner
So, probably a really dumb question, but how would I get that to work? I'm no developer, but I can sift my way through a file and replace code. Is it a lot of work?

tofuman

Administrator
Staff member
well the changes we've implemented to the client require more than just a few value changes. The code in the client is changed how this is processed. Now with the new client there are 2 arrays. One array is for true/false is item stackable. Then another array is for how many items can be in the stack. This does mean that you have more flexibility with stackable items. You can set say fluids to a stack of 20, mates 30 materials 200.

So unless you know what you're doing It's best to use the client patcher.

But with the new client its just a matter of setting true to stackable and then setting how many are in the stack. This its just a matter of setting the stack limit on the ship. (The new server has these limits set in the config. Old ship code will need you to edit the source.)

NerdmastaX

Neroziat
this confuses me a bit tofu because i have a very old buggy client patcher for 1.25.13 and i was just about to change the stack and do a file compare and list the offsets changed. i didnt know about a new client. or are you referring to the server? It would be nice to have a clear footing on what changes were done where. A good client editor would be nice.

tofuman

Administrator
Staff member